Distinguished Alumnus Award

The Distinguished Alumnus Award recognizes SMUS alumni who have excelled in their chosen field and who exemplify many of the core values of St. Michaels University School. Each year we select a different field and welcome nominations from across the school community.

Nominations for 2018 and 2019

Nominations are now open for 2018 and 2019. In 2018, we will recognize one of our alumni who has done remarkable work in the field of engineering and for 2019, in the field of public service. Nominees should demonstrate vision and innovation, dedication, achievement and accomplishment, as well as community involvement. To nominate an alumnus for the 2018 or 2019 award please complete the form below.

Kenneth Oppel '85

2017 Distinguished Alumnus Award: Literature

Author Kenneth Oppel ’85 was recognized with the 2017 SMUS Distinguished Alumnus Award this fall. Kenneth came to St. Michaels University School in Grade 8 and wrote his first book, Colin’s Fantastic Video Adventure, while he was still a high school student here. The book was well received and published in France, Britain and Canada. Upon graduation, Kenneth attended the University of Toronto, focusing his attention on his double major in English and Cinema Studies. During his time at U of T, he wrote his second children’s book, The Live-Forever Machine.

Over his storied career, Kenneth has written numerous books including the extremely successful Silverwing trilogy, which sold more than a million copies worldwide, and Airborn, the winner of the 2004 Governor General’s Award for children’s literature and the Michael L. Printz Award from the American Library Association. He has also received the Canadian Library Association’s Book of the Year for Children Award, and the Young Adult Book Award for his book Half Brother.

Read an excerpt from Kenneth's keynote speech at the Founders and Scholars Dinner on the SMUSpaper website.

Previous Distinguished Alumni

Alumni Awards Nomination Form

Submit your suggestion for a future field or nominee using the form below.

Outline your reasons for nominating this alumnus or suggesting a future category.


Please contact either Nicole Laird in the Advancement Office or Henry Frew, Chair, of the Awards Committee.